http://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/70332863/stream?client_id=3cQaPshpEeLqMsNFAUw1Q?plead=please-dont-download-this-or-our-lawyers-wont-let-us-host-audio

A few months back I was talking to a badass skater called ‘Kid Block’ and an amazing vocalist Leanne Jay Brookes about how awesome it would be to write and record a sports anthem.

It just so happens that Kid Block, the awesome skater, skates awesomely for the awesome roller derby team the Tiger Bay Brawlers of Cardiff, Wales. Awesome.

Roller Derby is a fast paced, exciting, full contact sport and before each game, teams often skate out to a theme that represents their attitude. Popular songs are usually rock driven and empowering such as ‘Eye of the Tiger’. However, in the many games I’d seen in person and online I hadn’t heard of a team that had their own song. That’s kind of how the conversation went with Kid Block and Leanne, who helped me see what an awesome opportunity composing a theme for the Tiger Bay Brawlers would be.

The Brawlers have a huge passion for their sport so I had to try my best to capture that and the nature of derby to the best of my abilities if this theme was going to fly. I used a program from the last bout I attended to get a few things straight in my head just so the lyrics would make sense. I then watched a bunch of inspirational speeches from classic films like ‘Any Given Sunday’ and ‘Rocky’, read up on tigers and talked to a couple of the Brawlers themselves. I then used that positive attitude and determination to construct a feasible song that I felt fans of the Brawlers could chant along to on game day.


However, at the same time, it was more important to inspire the team to carry on being as awesome as they already are AND record a blazing guitar solo, obviously. 

You can find out more about the Tiger Bay Brawlers here.

(Photo: Scott Cole Photography)

Brawler For Life

Leave a Reply

